STROBE Seminars: “Mechanical and structural properties of complex nanostructured media probe by extreme ultraviolet beams” and “Developments and Scientific Applications of Relativistic Ultrafast Electron Diffraction”

Please join us next Monday, November 16, at 1pm PT, 2pm MT, 3pm CT, 4pm ET for a STROBE research seminar!
We are taking advantage of the poster recordings that many of you made for the STROBE site visit to share STROBE research across the center. We are sharing the poster recordings ahead of time so viewers can familiarize themselves with the research and be more prepared with questions (and have time to look up all the words that they don’t know the definition of, or maybe that’s just me). We hope to share more of these posters over the next few months!
We hope you will join us for this great opportunity to learn more about the work your fellow STROBErs are doing!
Cheers,
Ellen
Mechanical and structural properties of complex nanostructured media probe by extreme ultraviolet beams
Presented by Josh Knobloch (postdoc) and Brendan McBennett (graduate student), Kapteyn-Murnane Group, CU Boulder
Abstract:
Advances in nanofabrication make it possible to fabricate nanostructures and ultrathin films with dimensions <10nm- where traditional characterization and metrology techniques often struggle. Dynamic extreme ultraviolet (EUV) scatterometry can overcome these challenges by using ultrafast short wavelength coherent beams. This enables direct, non-destructive probing of new mechanical and transport properties of a wide range of nanomaterials.
Developments and Scientific Applications of Relativistic Ultrafast Electron Diffraction
Presented by Dan Durham, graduate student, Andy Minor group, UC Berkeley
Abstract:
Ultrafast electron diffraction (UED) is a stroboscopic technique using synchronized laser “pump” excitation pulses and diffracting electron “probe” pulses to study photoinduced atomic-scale motions in materials at as short as femtosecond timescales. We have recently implemented pump-probe relativistic UED at the High Repetition-rate Electron Scattering (HiRES) instrument at LBNL, studying materials ranging from elemental metals to quantum materials. We are also working to bring this technique to the nanoscale by developing specialized plasmonic photoemitters to generate nanoscale electron pulses for UED.
Ellen Keister, PhD
Associate Director of Education
STROBE NSF Science & Technology Center
JILA, University of Colorado Boulder

Date

Nov 16 2020
Expired!

Time

2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Speakers

Go to Top