STROBE Tutorial Series: Electron Microscopy: Introduction, Applications and Opportunities

Please join us on Thursday for a STROBE Tutorial hosted by UC Berkeley!

Date and Time: 11:00AM PT / 12:00PM MT / 2:00PM ET, Thursday, October 28, 2021

Title: Electron Microscopy: Introduction, Applications and Opportunities

Presenter: Dr. Colum O’Leary, Postdoctoral Researcher with Miao group, UCLA

Abstract: 

Electron microscopy is a high-resolution suite of characterization techniques used in the physical and biological sciences. By accelerating electrons to relativistic speeds (i.e. 0.5c) such that their characteristic wavelengths are 100,000 times smaller than visible light, one can perform high-resolution imaging down to the atomic scale. Furthermore, by implementing an array of diffraction and spectroscopic methods, electron microscopy can be used to decipher the nanoscale structure and composition of materials. This tutorial will begin by introducing electron microscopy and highlighting its advantages and disadvantages over visible and x-ray characterization techniques. Following this, the applications of electron microscopy will be summarized, with a specific focus on the cutting-edge experiments being performed by members of the STROBE community.

Date

Oct 28 2021
Expired!

Time

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Speaker

Go to Top