Friday, October 5, 2018 – Last night CO-LABS presented JILA’s ultrafast imaging team, led by Fellows Margaret Murnane and Henry Kapteyn, the 2018 Governor’s Award for High-Impact Research.

Murnane and Kapteyn were honored for their work in revolutionizing ultrafast and nanoscale imaging through the research and development of tabletop x-ray sources. These advancements enable real-time imaging of the structure, chemistry, and dynamics of materials at the level of small collections of atoms. The applications range from improving semiconductor devices and magnetic storage to understanding the fundamental physics and chemistry of complex materials. By designing, developing, and eventually enabling the availability of this technology through KM-Labs, Murnane and Kapteyn have enabled many curious researchers to further their discoveries.

Walter Copan, the Director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), presented the award to Murnane and Kapteyn. “What Henry and Margaret have done is truly emblematic of collaboration and of this long-standing partnership between NIST and the University of Colorado,” said Copan.

JILA Chair Thomas Perkins was also present at last night’s awards ceremony.  “We are thrilled to celebrate the announcement of 2018 Governor’s award for High-Impact Research to JILA’s Ultrafast Imaging Team, led by Professors Margaret Murnane and Henry Kapteyn,” said Perkins. “This award honors their triumvirate of ongoing success: pioneering the frontier in ultrafast x-ray laser science and application, training dozens of young scientists, and growing a successful Colorado high-tech company.”

This year marked the tenth anniversary of CO-LABS gathering scientists, researchers, entrepreneurs, business leaders and government officials to celebrate the exceptional and groundbreaking work of scientists and engineers from Colorado’s federally-funded research labs and institutions.

“These discoveries highlight the diversity and impact of the science and technology coming out of Colorado’s research labs that make our state and the world a better place,” said Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper. “We are indeed fortunate to be home to an incredible concentration of brilliant scientists whose work is having profound impacts on society.”

JILA’s award was one of three bestowed last night. Other winners included the Center for Disease Control and Prevention for their Metabolic biomarkers that improved diagnosis and prognosis of early Lyme disease, and the National Renewable Energy Laboratory for their sustainable and elegant solution to produce cost-competitive acrylonitrile. The Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences received an honorary mention for their pioneering study of how the growing emissions from consumer products affects our understanding of air pollution and environmental regulation.

Previous JILA recipients of the CO-LABS Governor’s Award include current JILA Chair Thomas Perkins in 2017, JILA Fellows Cindy Regal and Konrad Lehnert in 2016Dana Anderson in 2014, and  Jan Hall in 2010.

The keynote speaker of the event was Alice Jackson, the President of Xcel Energy – Colorado. She discussed Xcel’s partnership with federal research laboratories such as the National Renewable Energy Laboratory and the National Center for Atmospheric Research.

CO-LABS was started in 2007 as a non-profit consortium of federal research labs, research universities, businesses and economic development organizations with a mission to support and expand the positive impacts of Colorado’s science and technology resources.

The awards ceremony and reception was held at Denver Museum of Nature & Science.