Congrats to Jose Rodriguez for Receiving a 2020 Sloan Research Fellowship in Chemistry

February 12, 2020|The Sloan Foundation|

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2020 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 126 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Winners receive $75,000, which may be spent over a two-year term on any expense supportive of their research.

Read More

Congrats to Bao Wang for Receiving the UCLA Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellow Award

February 1, 2020|UCLA|

Bao Wang received the UCLA Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellow Award in 2020. Dr. Wang works with the Osher research group.

Read More

Congrats to Margaret Murnane and Henry Kapteyn for Receiving the 2020 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics

January 27, 2020|The Franklin Institute|

The Franklin Institute is pleased to announce The Franklin Institute Awards Class of 2020! Henry C. Kapteyn and Margaret M. Murnane, 2020 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics. Now in its 196th year, The Franklin Institute Awards pays tribute to our namesake and America’s first great scientist, Benjamin Franklin, by honoring the greatest minds in science, engineering, and industry. Our newest laureates are making our world safer, healthier, and more connected. They made revolutionary advances in laser technology, learned how forests recover from fires, uncovered the mechanisms behind color vision, and laid the foundation for artificial intelligence. Their work enables technologies never before thought possible and helps us better understand our planet and ourselves. They are mentors and role models for the next generation of science and engineering trailblazers. They are creating a better future for us all.

Read More

Keeping up with the Curies: Physicist team wins prestigious physics award

January 27, 2020|CU Boulder Today|

A husband-and-wife team at the forefront of laser science at the University of Colorado Boulder are following in the footsteps of the Curies, winning a prestigious Benjamin Franklin Medal.

The Franklin Institute announced today that Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane would receive this year’s medal in physics—one of several awards handed out annually by the center named after scientist and founding father Benjamin Franklin.

Kapteyn and Murnane are fellows in JILA, a joint research institute between CU Boulder and the National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST). They have pioneered new advancements in X-ray lasers, devices that shoot out incredibly fast pulses of X-ray radiation.

Read More

Congrats to Diana Rossell-Eddy for Receiving the First Place Poster Award at the Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics

January 17, 2020|CUWiP|

Congratulations to Diana Rossell-Eddy for winning the first place poster prize at the Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics! The APS CUWiP goal is to help undergraduate women continue in physics by providing them with the opportunity to experience a professional conference, information about graduate school and professions in physics, and access to other women in physics of all ages with whom they can share experiences, advice, and ideas.

Read More

Congrats to Naomi Ginsberg for Receiving the 2020 Physical Chemistry Division Award from the American Chemical Society

January 15, 2020|The Physical Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society|

The 2020 Early-Career Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry is awarded to Prof. Naomi S. Ginsberg at UC-Berkeley, “For the development of new time- and space-resolved imaging and spectroscopy methods to study dynamical phenomena in heterogeneous materials.” The Physical Chemistry Division annually sponsors senior and early-career awards in theoretical and experimental physical chemistry that are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. The 2020 recipients will be honored at the the Fall ACS National Meeting in San Francisco.

Read More

Congrats to Margaret Murnane for Receiving the 2019 CU Boulder Women Who Make a Difference Award

January 13, 2020|CU Boulder Today|

Mary Rippon, the first CU female professor, and Lucile B. Buchanan, the first African-American woman to graduate from CU, paved the way for women to succeed. These influential women were the first to accomplish what they did, but women who deserve appreciation surround us every day. The 2019 class of Women Who Make a Difference impact our community by serving as teachers, mentors, mothers and advocates. They write, they blog, they include and make countless other contributions big and small.

Read More

Congrats to Kate Groschner for Receiving a Microscopy & Microanalysis Student Scholar Award in Spring 2019

January 7, 2020|Microscopy & Microanalysis|

Catherine Groschner of Mary Scott’s research group at the University of California, Berkeley was awarded a 2019 M&M Student Scholar Award for her presentation titled, “Machine Learning for High Throughput HRTEM Analysis”.

Read More

Congrats to Laura Waller for Being Selected as an American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) Fellow in 2019

December 31, 2019|AIMBE|

Laura Waller has been selected as a 2019 AIMBE Fellow. The College of Fellows – 2,000 individuals who are outstanding bioengineers in academia, industry, clinical practice, and government. These leaders in the field have distinguished themselves through their contributions in research, industrial practice and/or education. Fellows are nominated each year by their peers and represent the top 2% of the medical and biological engineering community. They are considered the life-blood of AIMBE and work towards realizing AIMBE’s vision to provide medical and biological engineering innovation for the benefit of humanity.

Read More

Congrats to David Cesar for Receiving the Particle Accelerator Science & Technology (PAST) Doctoral Student Award from IEEE

December 1, 2019|IEEE|

In 2019, David Cesar received the Particle Accelerator Science & Technology (PAST) Doctoral Student Award from IEEE for contributions to dielectric laser accelerators and time-resolved electron microscopy.

Read More
Go to Top