Home \ News

Symposium X—Frontiers of Materials Research

In her Symposium X talk on Monday, Margaret Murnane of the University of Colorado Boulder described methods to create coherent sources with extremely short wavelengths, with excellent spectral, temporal, and polarization control. “Thirty years ago,” she said, “we never thought that we could achieve the same kind of control—and perhaps better control—over light in extreme UV and soft x-ray region as we could in the visible region of the spectrum.”

Dennis Gardner wins 2017 Laser Science Dissertation Award

Former JILAn Dennis F. Gardner Jr. (Kapteyn-Murnane group) has been awarded the 2017 American Physical Society’s Carl E. Anderson Division of Laser Science Dissertation Award for his doctoral work in extreme ultraviolet (EUV) imaging. Gardner received $1,000 and a certificate citing his contribution to laser science.

Gardner’s thesis, entitled “Coherent diffractive imaging near the spatio-temporal limit with high harmonic sources” (2017), demonstrates the highest resolution-to-wavelength ratio ever achieved with coherent diffractive imaging. These advances to imaging are critical for advancing nanoelectronics, data storage, and nanoengineered systems.

Gardner is currently a Research Physicist at Sotera Defense Solutions, Inc. in Washington D.C.

Gardner graduated summa cum laude from the University of Colorado at Boulder with a Bachelor of Arts in physics before joining the Kapteyn-Murnane group at JILA in the summer of 2011. During his time at JILA, he was awarded a Ford Foundation Fellowship (2011) and a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship (2011). He also won the Optical Society’s Emil Wolf Outstanding Paper Competition in 2015.

The Carl E. Anderson Division of Laser Science Dissertation Award was established by the American Physical Society (APS) in 2013 to recognize novel applications of light-matter interactions in doctoral research, and to encourage effective written and oral presentations. Four finalists are selected to present their dissertation work at the Laser Science Conference. This year’s finalists also included Tal Galfsky from The City University of New York, Vivishek Sudhir from Ecole Polytechnique Federale De Lausanne, and Shuo Sun from the University of Maryland, College Park.

STROBE Imaging: How STROBE is modeling the future of research

From life-saving advances in medicine to life-changing opportunities in renewable energy, imaging technology offers a window into worlds that can’t otherwise be seen by the human eye. That makes it an essential tool across a broad range of scientific disciplines, from engineering to biosciences. But despite their widespread use, today’s imaging techniques remain limited. Finding a solution to this problem will require collaborating with other institutions and developing new ways to educate up and-coming scientists. Based at CU Boulder, the Science and Technology Center on Real-Time Functional Imaging—known as STROBE—is designed to do exactly that.

Congrats to Jennifer Ellis on her NRC Postdoctral Fellowship

The NIST NRC Postdoctoral Program supports a nationwide competitive postdoctoral program administered in cooperation with the National Academies/National Research Council (NRC). The postdoctoral program brings research scientists and engineers of unusual promise and ability to perform advanced research related to the NIST mission, introduces the latest university research results and techniques to NIST scientific programs, strengthens mutual communication with university researchers, shares NIST unique research facilities with the U.S. scientific and engineering communities, and provides a valuable mechanism for the transfer of research results from NIST to the scientific and engineering communities.

Congrats to Nathan Brooks on receiving an NSF Fellowship

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.

Go to Top